Hi from Kiev!

Hi Everybody!
I arrived safe and sound in Kiev on Monday, October 24. It’s been a hectic couple of days. 2 other new UN Volunteers arrived on Monday as well, and the 3 of us are trying to take care of a million things – thank goodness for them because I don’t know how I’d do all of this on my own! I have a whole new appreciation for how much Peace Corps “held our hands”. The number 1 pressing issue is finding decent, affordable housing. We are beginning to realize that rental prices in Kiev are approaching New York levels, and our volunteer living allowances are no where near New York salaries! Our colleagues have taken pity on us and today started calling their friends, family and anyone else they know even remotely to try to help us find something decent that will still leave enough money to feed ourselves.

I promise to post more this weekend. Off to see more apartments now!

Leave a comment