Back in Kyiv

It’s hard to believe Dad’s been here over a week already! We had a really busy first week, and I’m planning to take it easier this second week.

The day trip to Chornobyl was really interesting, as always. We went from there almost directly to the Carpathian mountains in western Ukraine. Gosh, it is sooooo beautiful! It was really interesting to notice in myself all the adaptations I’ve made in my behavior after spending so much time in Chornobyl-effected areas. In the mountains, it’s so beautiful and clean! We drank the most delicious water from a spring way up in the highest mountain in Ukraine. I ate forest mushrooms like there was no tomorrow, and we had my beloved blueberries. I hesitated at first, then realized that all of these things are OK in the west.

I’ll write more later, and post lots of photos later too. Suffice it to say, I’ve totally fallen in love with the Carpathians. We stayed at some incredible places, met wonderful people, and we were surrounded by breathtaking beauty and fresh clean air all the time. I can’t wait to get back there! I told Igor that if our plans for Crimea don’t work out in August, I’d love to spend our vacation in the mountain agains. Who knew there was such an amazing place? I hope not too many people! We want it all to ourselves. 🙂

Leave a comment