Random thoughts

Friday I lost one of the earrings that Igor’s mother gave me as a wedding present, the earrings that match my wedding ring with rubies and diamonds. Saturday night I broke one of the goblets Igor ordered for our wedding – special engraved with our names. If I was a superstitious person, I’d really be freaking out right now. As a not-particularly-superstitious person, I am really really sad and disappointed.

We made the bigger leap yesterday than a wedding – we combined our finances. Well, most of them, at least, as I can’t add Igor to my American bank account until this summer when we go to Columbus. But we added him to my Ukrainian account and opened a new joint account. Yikes – now it’s for real!

Went back to the gym yesterday for the first time in a month. Double yikes. I hurt like hell today. But it’s good to get back into my routine, and to be working out again. I’ve got to get some of this flab off before we go to Egypt for our honeymoon!

Kyiv has been so nice the last few weeks, hardly anyone here, such light traffic and you can actually get on a bus or marshrutka in the morning! When we drove back from Koroston on January 1, we crossed Bessarabska Square and there was not one single car! Right in the center of the city, one of the worst intersections. Igor laughed and said “This city’s not so bad when only the actual residents are here!” But that will end soon, school starts again this week and all the kids will return from visiting their grandparents in the villages.

Leave a comment