Back in town and online

We finally have internet in our new apartment. That was a crazy ordeal, but finally solved – yeah! So here are a bunch of random thoughts that have been building up, waiting for expression.

It’s freakin’ cold in Kyiv. I realized yesterday as I froze to and from work that it’s time to dig out the down coat. Yikes.

We found a sauna a 5-minute walk from us. We’ve gone two weekends in a row. Igor is much more of a hot, dry sauna fan than I am, but I enjoy going with him and love seeing him have such a good time there. He can be so predictable, too. Without fail, he complains for the first 90 minutes about how it isn’t hot enough, somethings not right, etc etc, and inevitably he turns the proper shade of red that he wants to be in the last 10 minutes and he gets a big grin and says he’s happy. He’s so funny sometimes.

The cat is finally settled in to the new apartment. She sleeps with us most of the night again. The one annoying thing is she doesn’t like to open the bathroom door to get to her box, even though we propped it open a bit for her. She prefers to sit outside the door until someone comes along and holds it open for her. She is so freakin’ spoiled. This also makes me worry about how we can leave her alone overnight, as we do on occasion. Gotta figure this one out.

The realities of my new job are starting to sink in a bit more. It’s great, I love it, but the travel will be quite an adjustment for us. Igor wasn’t too happy to hear my travel schedule for the coming year, especially some of the longer trips. But we will adapt. And I reminded to be more attentive during our time together, and not to bring work home with me.

I finally assembled all the pieces together and today I will have a toasted bagel with cream cheese for breakfast. Well, the Ukrainian version of cream cheese, which is pretty darn good too. Dad gave us a toaster as a housewarming present, and also a microwave as an early Christmas present. I haven’t used a microwave oven in over four years, and Igor has never used one, so we’re (re-)discovering it together. This micro is really cool – it also has a grill function and a steamer. Igor grilled pork over the weekend, which turned out really good. Last night we made baked potatoes – so quick and easy! I’ve got some cauliflower waiting to be steamed tonight. Yeah!

Leave a comment