Happy “Old” New Year

I’m in Russia, visiting advising centers in 4 cities. A different bed nearly every night for 9 days! Today we are in Nizhny Novgorod, an old city on the Volga. Unfortunately, as usual, not much time for siteseeing, but the little I’ve seen is impressive. I’m exhausted from the overnight train trip to get here, and a poor night’s sleep in Moscow before that. We had a super chatty and friendly taxi driver from the train station to the hotel, so we had a very quick but entertaining tour at 6:30 this morning. I love taxi drivers like that – I almost don’t mind getting ripped off by guys like that, the commentary was worth the extra money we paid.

This was my first “Old” New Year without Igor in 3 years. That’s a bummer. The hardest part of these fun and interesting trips is missing my wonderful husband.

Leave a comment