What a day!

I just watched the inauguration video – what a day to be alive, what a day to be an American!

I tried to put into words for Igor the way I feel this evening, to express the pride that I feel. It’s hard to express this overwhelming feeling with English words, even harder for me with Russian words!

Like many Ukrainians disillusioned with the defunct Orange Revoluntion, Igor cracked “We’ll see how you still feel in 6 months.” I do have high hopes and high expectations for President Obama. But as with the Orange Revolution, an important change has occured that cannot be taken away. My country is not the same today as it was yesterday.

It can be argued that no one could live up to the expectations placed on President Yushchenko, and maybe no one could live up to the expectations now placed on President Obama, but we have them. And we have hope and faith in a great country.

What a day to witness!

Leave a comment