Home again

I’m back in Kyiv – exhausted, as usual, after two weeks in the US. Managed to be just grams under the weight limit with my luggage (I’m getting good at that!).

I wish I could have visited with more friends while I was in DC, but the week was really intense and jam-packed. Lots of exciting changes in our organization, which will be both fun and challenging. One new development is the addition of 7 more countries to my portfolio. I’ll definitely have my hands full!

Those of you in the central Ohio region, my school friend Kate is about to complete massage therapy school and I was a very lucky guinea pig for her. It… was…. awesome. If you want her to be on her list when she is fully licensed next month and ready to open shop, let me know and I’ll pass on your contacts to her. Trust me, you will not regret it. She has, as she called it, the Cadillac of massage tables set up in her studio. I would call it the Bentley. She’s got lots of really tall friends so she was purposeful to get an extra long table to accomodate taller frames.

The cat now has a definitive name. As much as we liked Ziggy, his personality ended up setting the name – Trasher. It sounds slightly less awful when said with a heavy Russian accent, but Igor informed me today that it’s the final answer. It’s my own fault, I jokingly refered to the cat once or twice as “musornik”, “trash can” in Russian, ’cause he eats just about anything and everything. Folks living in small towns and villages feed their dogs, cats, chickens and pigs with table scraps, but usually city pets (which so far, in Kyiv at least, don’t seem to include chickens and pigs) often get store-bought pet food. Our guy, for good or bad, is not so fancy and has turned up his nose to most brands of cat food, but is perfectly content with any and all table scraps. So Igor started calling him Trasher, and sadly the consequence of me being gone for two weeks is that now the name has stuck. *Sigh*

Everything else seems OK. Only one thing broke in transit this trip, and I think it’s fixable. I went wild at JoAnn Crafts and now Eileen and I will have sooooo many supplies for all those cross-stitch patterns we bought over the summer! I’m working on baby booties for a friend – they are adorable!

Leave a comment