Home Sweet Home

I’m back home in Kyiv, wondering when that magic moment occurred and Kyiv became “home.” It is home because my husband is here, first and foremost. My work and friends are here, too. I love being in Columbus, too, my other home, where my family and friends are. And I’m always amazed at how quickly and easily it is to reconnect with those close friends I see once a year, if I’m lucky.

I slept for something like 14 hours Tuesday night, and enjoyed a quiet day with Igor on Wednesday. He took me to the fitness club he joined recently, and signed me up as well. It felt great to have a good workout, and I’m looking forward to us getting in shape together. There are saunas in both the men’s and women’s locker rooms, which of course was the big selling point for Igor. I was kind of bummed we couldn’t use the sauna together, but as I was in mine I heard sounds on the other side of the wall and started to wonder… “Igor, is that you?” Sure enough! So we sat in our respective saunas and chatted through the wall, being the only people in either one. It was cute.

I’m back to the office today, which will be great. I miss my colleagues!

Leave a comment